The Norwegian Biodiversity Information Centre produce the “Norwegian Red List for Ecosystems and Habitat Types”, which assesses the risks that ecosystems and habitat types may disappear from Norway.

The 2018 edition of this publication contains the second Red List for ecosystems and habitat types in Norway. It is primarily designed to give decision makers a better knowledge base for their work with biodiversity. However, it is important to be aware that the determination of such a risk is one of several knowledge inputs in a national management of ecosystems.

The work of creating the 2018 Red List is generally based on “Nature in Norway”, the NBIC's system for classifying ecosystems and habitats (NiN 2.0), but adaptations are made to obtain functional assessment units. The red list assessments are done using an international method, developed by The International Union for Conservation of Nature (IUCN).

The nature types that are named in the Red List have been placed in one of the following six categories:

  • Collapsed (CO)
  • Critically Endangered (CR)
  • Endangered (EN)
  • Vulnerable (VU)
  • Near Threatened (NT)
  • Data Deficient (DD)

Only types classified to the categories critically endangered (CR), endangered (EN) or vulnerable (VU) are defined as being threatened. In total, 75 types classified as threatened (CR, EN and VU), while 39 are classified as near threatened (NT) and 12 as Data deficient (DD).